Tejashwi Yadav at a press convention on Saturday. (Twitter/ANI)

The seat-sharing train gained momentum after RJD supremo Lalu Prasad’s emissary Bhola Yadav returned to Patna from Ranchi on Thursday.

  • News18.com New Delhi
  • Last Updated: October 3, 2020, 6:36 PM IST


Bihar’s opposition Grand Alliance introduced on Saturday that it has reached a seat-sharing deal for the upcoming meeting elections within the state and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief Tejashwi Yadav will probably be its chief ministerial candidate. The announcement was made at a press convention within the presence of leaders of the coalition.

The RJD, which is spearheading the opposition coalition, will contest on 144 seats within the 243-strong meeting. The Congress has been provided 70 seats, apart from contesting the by-poll to Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha seat, whereas CPI-(M) and CPI have been given 4 and 6 seats, respectively. CPI-ML will contest on 19 seats. RJD stated it could accommodate Bollywood set designer Mukesh Sahni’s Vikasheel Insan Party (VIP) and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) in its quota of 144 seats.

However, after the press convention, VIP president Mukesh Sahni introduced that he was quitting the grand alliance since he didn’t get “a respectable offer”.

The announcement on the seat-sharing deal for the upcoming meeting elections comes after days of deliberations. Notably, the seat-sharing train gained momentum after RJD supremo Lalu Prasad’s emissary Bhola Yadav returned to Patna from Ranchi on Thursday along with his message on the distribution of seats amongst totally different companions, they stated.

“Seat-sharing has been finalised and an announcement will be made in all likelihood today evening,” RJD spokesperson Mrityunjay Tiwari had told PTI earlier on Saturday. The RJD, the Congress, Left parties CPI-ML, CPI and the CPI(M) and Jharkhand’s ruling party JMM are unitedly fighting the Bihar elections scheduled in October-November.

The ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is also expected to announce a seat-sharing agreement for Bihar assembly elections soon. In what may be a setback, Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) is likely to contest on 143 seats outside the NDA alliance with the slogan “Modi se bair nahi, Nitish teri khair nahi,” or “No enmity with Modi but won’t spare CM and JD(U) president Nitish Kumar.”

However, the LJP stated that it wasn’t strolling out of the alliance because the get together is in alliance with the NDA on the nationwide stage. It is being stated that the LJP will act as BJP’s proxy within the alliance.

Voting for Bihar meeting elections will probably be held in three phases — first on October 28, second on November Three and the third on November 7 — whereas counting of all votes will happen on November 10.

The election within the state is being carried out at a time when India is recording one of many highest circumstances every day. However, within the view of Covid-19 scenario, the election fee elevated the polling hours from 7 am to six pm as a substitute of the standard 5 pm. it’s being achieved to keep away from crowd and preserve social distancing within the polling course of. There will probably be a number of preparations for voters together with 7 lakh sanitizers, 46 lakh masks, 6 lakh PPE kits, 7.6 lakh models of face shields and 23 lakh models of hand gloves, the ballot physique had stated.