Elections for 24 Rajya Sabha seats unfold throughout 10 states will be held on 19 June, the Election Commission introduced on Monday. Elections for 18 of those 24 seats were deferred due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Of these 18 seats, 4 every are from Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat, three every from Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, two from Jharkhand, and one every from Manipur and Meghalaya.

The EC additionally introduced that Rajya Sabha polls for a complete of six seats in Arunachal Pradesh, Karnataka and Mizoram will even be held on 19 June together with the elections that were deferred from March.

While Kupendra Reddy (JD-S), Prabhar Kore (BJP), M V Rajeev Gowda (Congress) and BK Hariprasad (Congress) from Karnataka are retiring on 25 June, the time period of Mukut Mithi (Congress) from Arunachal Pradesh ends on 23 June. The time period of Mizoram MP Ronald Sapa Tlau (Congress) ends on 18 July.

File picture of the Rajya Sabha. Reuters

The notification for the polls on six seats will be issued on Tuesday, an EC assertion mentioned. The counting of votes for all of the 24 seats will be held on the night of June 19 itself, the Commission mentioned.

While deferring the elections early March, the ballot panel had made it clear that processes accomplished by then, together with nominations filed by candidates, will stay legitimate. “The only steps remaining were the actual poll and the counting. That would be completed now,” an official defined.

The Commission had deferred the 16 March Rajya Sabha elections citing the specter of coronavirus, saying a choice on conducting them will be taken after reviewing the scenario.

Follow Latest Updates on Coronavirus Lockdown here

While 17 members from six states retired on 9 April, one from Meghalaya retired on 12 April.

Originally the election were to happen on March 26 on 55 Upper House seats, however 37 candidates have already been elected and not using a contest.

The assertion mentioned the Commission has now reviewed the matter intimately after contemplating all elements, together with the most recent pointers issued by the Union Home Secretary.

The Commission additionally determined that state chief secretaries will depute a senior officer from the state to be certain that the directions relating to COVID-19 containment measures are complied with whereas making preparations for conducting the elections. The EC additionally appointed chief electoral officer of the involved state as observer for these polls.

Earlier within the day, the “full commission” — the chief election commissioner and two election commissioners — met at Nirvachan Sadan right here for the primary time in practically three months.

The ballot panel had been holding digital meets as Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, who was visiting the United States on depart within the first half of March, obtained stranded there due to the coronavirus lockdown. Arora returned to India not too long ago and underwent the necessary quarantine earlier than becoming a member of workplace on Monday.

A key determination taken in a single such digital assembly was to enable the legislative council election in Maharashtra to pave the best way for Uddhav Thackeray changing into a member of the state legislature throughout the stipulated six months of changing into chief minister.

The polls were deferred due to the coronavirus outbreak.