Former Finance Secretary and presently the Chairman of the Public Enterprises Selection Board (PESB), Rajiv Kumar has been appointed as an Election Commissioner.

He will take the place of Ashok Lavasa who has resigned and can be a part of the Asian Development Bank as Vice-President subsequent month. Kumar, an IAS officer of the 1984 batch from the Jharkhand cadre, had retired as the Finance Secretary in February this 12 months. He was appointed as PESB Chairman in April.

“ In pursuance of clause (2) of article 324 of the Constitution, the President is pleased to appoint Rajiv Kumar, IAS(Retd.) as the Election Commissioner with effect from the date he assumes the office vice Ashok Lavasa, Election Commissioner who has resigned with effect from 31st August, 2020,” the Law Ministry mentioned in a notification on Friday.