Google will discontinue its emergency location sharing app Trusted Contacts in December, and has already yanked it from the Google Play Store. Instead, it’s directing current customers to strive related however much less useful options in Google Maps. That’s a disgrace, as a result of whereas Trusted Contacts might let you discover a member of the family even when they don’t reply (say, if they’re unconscious or in hazard), Google Maps requires them to proactively broadcast their location to you.

The announcement was fairly abrupt:

Google’s e-mail announcement
Ian Carlos Campbell

Google Maps has been capable of do real time location sharing since 2017, however once more, you must opt-in to fixed monitoring, sharing your location with different individuals on a regular basis as a substitute of solely broadcasting it to loved ones if you don’t reply. Trusted Contacts, by comparability, permits you so as to add individuals to your contacts who you’d prefer to immediately share your places with in case of emergency. If one arises, your contacts can request a standing replace to see if you’re alright and you can reply together with your location to reassure them. If you don’t reply, the app mechanically shares your final identified location to allow them to ship for assist.

When Google initially launched Trusted Contacts, it created this GIF to indicate the way it works:


Folding different apps and features into Google Maps has been Google’s technique for some time, however the Maps characteristic doesn’t really feel fairly as useful. And whereas it’s attainable the Trusted Contacts app didn’t have plenty of customers, those that have been counting on it might want to discover one thing else.

Google is ending assist for the app in December, however you’ll have the ability to obtain your contacts out of your Trusted Contacts page till the app is shut down. Until then, you would possibly as well get familiar with Google Maps’ take on location sharing.



Source link