The occasion was initially scheduled to happen in May, nevertheless it was postponed due to the pandemic. This is the first time the Indy 500 shall be held with out spectators.

NASCAR has already held numerous races with out spectators, so this is nothing new. Despite the lack of spectators, the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing” remains to be one among the largest races of the 12 months.

The 500-mile race spreads out over 200 laps and takes practically three hours to full.

How to watch

Pre-race protection begins at 1:00 p.m. ET on NBC on Sunday, August 23. You may also stream it by way of the NBC Sports app and NBC Sports Gold, NBC’s subscription streaming TV service.

Pilots shall be given the command to begin their engines at 2:23 p.m. ET, and the inexperienced flag to begin the race will drop at 2:30 p.m.

Race protection is anticipated to finish at 6:00 p.m.

What you want to know

The ‘Andretti Curse’

Marco Andretti, the grandson of legendary driver Mario Andretti, gained the 2020 Indy 500 pole place — the first place at the begin of the race that’s sometimes awarded to the racer with the prime qualifying time.

This is the first time {that a} member of the Andretti household has gained the pole place in 33 years, when Mario did it in 1987.

All eyes shall be on Andretti to see if he can finish the “Andretti Curse.” Mario is the solely member of the Andretti household to win the Indy 500 in 29 begins, in 1969. Michael Andretti, Marco’s father, by no means gained in 16 begins. Marco Andretti has led extra Indy 500 laps than 27 different drivers who’ve gained the race, according to sportswriter Curt Cavin.

Tight competitors at the prime

Scott Dixon shall be proper on the heels of Andretti, ranging from the second place after he missed out on the pole place by 0.017 seconds. Dixon has been scorching in 2020, profitable the first three races of the season together with two top-5 finishes.

Behind Dixon is Takuma Sato, who gained the Indy 500 in 2017.

While Simon Pagenaud, who gained the occasion final 12 months, shall be ranging from the 25th place, he’s nonetheless harmful and will simply creep up.

Chase for the Triple Crown of motorsports

The triple crown of motorsports includes three of the most prestigious races in the sport: the Indy 500, F1’s Monaco Grand Prix and the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

While a number of pilots have gained two of the three legs of the triple crown, just one driver has gained all three races: Graham Hill.

Fernando Alonso, who has gained F1’s Monaco Grand Prix and the 24 Hours of Le Mans, certified for the Indy 500 this 12 months.

Source link