This story is part of Apple Event, our full coverage of the latest news from Apple headquarters.

It’s official: The Apple Store is down, so it have to be a launch day. The firm is holding a virtual launch event today and whereas we do not anticipate the iPhone 12 to be introduced, it is anticipated to unveil the Apple Watch Series 6 and new additions to the iPad family of tablets. The event is scheduled for Sept. 15 at 10 a.m. PT (1 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. UK), and Apple will stream the event on its website, however you possibly can stick round right here for CNET’s reside present with commentary from Claire Riley, Patrick Holland and Lexy Savvides.

In addition, it is best to stick round for immediate response from numerous CNET editors and reporters through our reside Twitter stream. It kicks off at 9 a.m. PT (midday ET, 5 p.m. UK).

The up to date Apple Watch, which would be the successor to the Apple Watch Series 5 and can run WatchOS 7, is rumored to have an extended battery life, updates to its sleep-tracking function and metrics to measure blood oxygen ranges. The iPad Air is probably going due for a refresh as nicely. Improvements might embrace a bigger show, a sooner processor (maybe the A13 Bionic chipset) and possibly a USB Type-C connection as an alternative of Apple’s Lightning port.


Now playing:
Watch this:

The Apple Watch Series 6 is coming soon



6:39

As for the iPhone 12, the company still has not released any information about its next phone launch, though we wouldn’t be surprised if during the Sept. 15 event Apple did not show a quick tease. While Apple confirmed that the new iPhone will be available “a few weeks later” than its usual mid-September launch, our best educated guess for the event will be either Oct. 13 or 14.

apple-event-invite-2

Apple’s invitation to its Sept. 15 event.


Apple

CNET will be covering Tuesday’s event as it unfolds, so check back for all the news and products coming out that day. Watch live on CNET’s YouTube channel here



Source link